​Our City - Our Townships and Suburbs

Our Townships, Suburbs and VillagesThe Municipal spatial pattern reflects that of a historic apartheid city model characterised by segregated settlement. At the centre of the area is the Polokwane city which is the economic hub, which comprises of the CBD, industrial area and a range of social services as well as established formal urban areas servicing the more affluent residents of Polokwane. The vibrant communities and friendly inhabitants of the city of Polokwane are grouped into the following clusters:

Polokwane City/Seshego Cluster 
Seshego is located west of the CBD and railway line. It is the nearest to the economic core of all settlement areas and thus has the best access to the formal economy of Polokwane. Further away on the edges of the municipal area are extremely impoverished rural settlements scattered into the periphery with limited or no service and infrastructure. The communities in these areas, although they contribute to the economy of the city, are deprived of its benefits.

Molepo/Maja/Chuene Cluster 
Maja is located 20km to the South of the city of Polokwane and comprises an informal settlement area with very limites services and infrastructure. The settlement area sits on the fringe of the rural hinterland and is hence surrounded by a vast clustering of rural/semi-rural areas.

Mankweng/Sebayeng/Dikgale Cluster 
Mankweng is located 30km to the east of the city. It constitutes a large area and is mixture of both formal and informal settlements. It accommodates the University of Limpopo (Turfloop) and Zion City of Moria and is a long established settlement area.Sebayeng is also located 30km to the north-east of the city centre and is less formal and newer than Mankweng. The area is experiencing an influx and is growing at a rapid rate.​